Let’s make some chicken wings!

A few months ago I made the Gingered Balsamic and Date Glazed Chicken Legs recipe from the Paleo Takes 5 – Or Fewer cookbook by Cindy Sexton. It came out so good and my boyfriend loved it. So when I saw they had pastured chicken wings at Whole Foods yesterday I decided to adapt the recipe and make awesome chicken wings. The recipe was part of a “sneak peek” when the book was coming out so I figure it’s okay to post it. Here it is on another blog: http://meatified.com/gingered-balsamic-date-glazed-chicken-legs-aip/ (I definitely need to get a copy of Nourish: The Paleo Healing Cookbook by her.)

Warning!: This recipe is delicious but your kitchen and possibly other parts of your home will smell like balsamic vinegar for a little while.

Mmm…raw chicken wings. Ready to be all buttered up.

I learned a while back that you should leave out any meat you cook (chicken, pork, a nice steak, etc.) for 15 to 20 minutes at room temperature before cooking it to promote more even cooking.

While the chicken is baking….set up for the glaze. Balsamic vinegar, ginger, and dates.

Next step is dicing the dates and peeling and grating the ginger. I wish I could just throw everything into the food processor but I imagine it would get really chunky and not evenly distribute. At least it’s still quick!

The glaze smells amazing. It must have a million uses.

I got hungry while the chicken was cooking and decided to use some of glaze as a salad dressing.

Using the glaze as a salad dressing to make a quick snack. I would definitely make the glaze again just for dressing!

It was really good but really strong. It would make a kick ass dressing if diluted with some olive oil.

Chicken is out of the oven and ready to be glazed!

By the way, this is when you really start to smell the vinegar – as soon as you touch the glaze to the hot chicken. Watch out when you’re glazing…a good whiff will burn your nose a bit. Side note: I used the same baking time and temperature that the recipe called for to cook the wings.

All glazed! I wish I had a silicone glazing brush but I used a spoon and some patience and I think it worked out well.

I think maybe I could have used a little less vinegar than the recipe called for since it all ran off the chicken anyways.

Haha and this is where I took a break…in the middle of cooking dinner my boyfriend remembered that he had an important errand to run on the other side of town. We decided to stop at this point in the recipe and then finish the broiling when he came back. I mostly waited for him because he was in charge of the homemade “french fries”.

…1 hour later, we started cooking again. He made the fries and I sautéed some zucchini in ghee and put the chicken to broil for 5 minutes. It came out really good! The one thing I wish I had done was not to forget to flip the chicken halfway through baking. Overall though it was a success!

The finished plate!

My boyfriend’s version of the fries. I was so jealous!

This recipe requires very few ingredients, is (usually) quick, and would definitely impress anyone who tasted it. Let me know if you try it out!

My boyfriend sprinkled some shredded mozzarella cheese and some chives on his fried potatoes and put them in the oven for 5 minutes or so. I wanted to steal his fries so badly! They smelled amazing.

I started a new instagram to accompany this blog. Check it out!  https://instagram.com/adventures_eating/

Leave a Reply

